Question: What Are The Types Of Rasa?

What are the 9 Rasas?

The nine emotions included in Navarasa are Shringara (love/beauty), Hasya(laughter), Karuna (sorrow), Raudra (anger), Veera ( heroism/courage), Bhayanaka (terror/fear), Bibhatsya (disgust), Adbutha (surprise/wonder), and Shantha (peace or tranquility)..

What is the ninth rasa and who added it?

Contribution of Abhinavgupta to Rasa theory Abhivangupta introduced a ninth rasa called Śāntam which denotes the peace or tranquillity. These total nine rasas make the Navarasa.

What is the difference between rasa and bhava?

In simple words, bhava is the sentiment and rasa is the emotion, which it develops into. This shloka by Bharat Muni, simply defines the bhava as the constant state of mind or a sentiment. Rasa is the dominant emotion or feeling.

What is rasa and bhava?

The Rasa-Bhava is the central concept in Indian performing arts such as dance, drama, cinema, literature etc. Bhava means “to become”. Bhava is the state of mind while Rasa is the aesthetic flavour that results from that Bhava. … In other words, Rasa is the dominant emotional theme that is invoked in the audience.

What is the main source of Rasa?

The theory of rasa is attributed to Bharata, a sage-priest who may have lived sometime between the 1st century bce and the 3rd century ce. It was developed by the rhetorician and philosopher Abhinavagupta (c. 1000), who applied it to all varieties of theatre and poetry.

What are the eight Rasas according to Natyashastra?

The Eight Rasas (aesthetic essences) Bahyanak Rasa: color Black : emotion fear. Hasya Rasa: color white: emotion joy/laughter. Rudra Rasa: color red : emotion anger. Adbhuta Rasa: color yellow , emotion wonder.

What is the full form of Rasa?

Receive Appreciate Summarise and Ask. Miscellaneous » Unclassified. Rate it: RASA.

What are the eight Bhavas?

Hasya (Mirth) Soka'(शोक)’ (Sorrow) Krodha (Anger) Utsaha (Energy)

What is rasa dance?

Rasa is about human state of mind. Its about what the mind feels and the expression of the feeling thereafter. In the Bharata’s Natyashastra, Rasa is an emotion experienced by the audience created by the facial expression or the Bhava of the actor. In indian classical dance it is referred to as Rasa-abhinaya.